Listen to Afropunk Mixtape #2 Black Lives Always Mattered

Last year began a new feature on their site titled Afropunk Mixtape.  This second installment is titled “Black Lives Always Mattered” and features songs which were released this month from D’Angelo, We Are Shining, and The OBGMs, there’s a classic track from Fishbone, and an exclusive remix of an unreleased track from J Cole. Hope you enjoy. The artwork is in honor of Dr. Charles Drew, the inventor of the Blood Bank ((June 3, 1904 – April 1, 1950).

Here’s the quote from the artwork below:

“It’s impossible to determine how many hundreds of thousands of people would have lost their lives without the contributions of African-American inventor Dr. Charles Drew. This physician, researcher, and surgeon revolutionized the understanding of blood plasma – leading to the invention of blood banks.”

And here’s the track listing for the mixtape:


1. Intro – Cypher (August 2014, December 2014)
2. J Cole vs Project Black Pantera – Be Free (Remix)
3. Laughing Man – Brilliant Colors
4. D’Angelo – 1000 Deaths
5. Interlude – Spike Lee / Michaela Angela Davis (December 2014)
6. Alice Smith – Shell Shock
7. We Are Shining – Hot Love
8. The OBGMs – Ijuswannaluvuallthetime
9. Kendrick Lamar – Untitled (Live)
10. Interlude – Chuck D (August 2013)
11. De La Soul (feat Chuck D) – The People
12. Girl In A Thunderbolt – Silver Phoenix
13. Interlude – Michaela Angela Davis (December 2014)
14. Charlie Belle – Get To Know
15. Blake Diamond & The Pearls – Black Is Beautiful
16. Fishbone – Riot
17. Project Black Pantera – Execucão na Av 38
18. Young Fathers – Soon Come Soon
19. Interlude – Melissa Harris Perry
20. Hadassa – Lead Balloon
21. Outro – Rip MC